Studio Fellowship


The Spudnik Press Cooperative Studio Fellowship is an intensive seven-month program that provides emerging artists opportunities to develop the artistic and professional skills needed to build a successful career in the arts. Key program components work in conjunction to provide mentorship, technical training, meaningful interactions with art professionals, public programming experience, and leadership opportunities. These key program components consist of the following:

  • Access to professional printmaking facilities
  • Weekly seminars addressing various elements of professional practices
  • Leadership experience through regularly monitoring Open Studio sessions.
  • Presentation opportunities through culminating public projects.

Furthermore, as ambassadors of Spudnik Press Cooperative, Fellows play an important role in ensuring our members and studio users have a welcoming experience at our shop and also help us grow our community. The contributions Fellows make to our day-to-day operations are invaluable and help shape the future of our facilities.

Program Overview

The Studio Fellowship is committed to providing Chicago’s most committed and talented emerging artists comprehensive professional opportunities and artistic and technical support that specifically addresses the needs of printmakers. To this end, the Studio Fellowship packages many opportunities for artists to advance their artistic practice.

Fellows receive unfettered access to the professional facilities at Spudnik Press Cooperative to support the creation of a new body of print-based artwork. Through working in our shared studio and monitoring weekly Open Studio sessions, fellows are actively engaged with our community of printmakers and benefit from ongoing support and feedback from staff and peers.

The impact of the Fellowship Program is greatly expanded through a weekly professional development seminar. Throughout twenty sessions, Fellows will develop the artistic and professional skills needed to build a successful career in the arts. Topics range from self-promotion for artists to artwork documentation to business planning.

Fellows have the unique experience of planning and presenting two culminating public projects. The Studio Take Over allows the Fellows to conceptualize, organize, and implement a community-based event from beginning to end. The Crossing of the Fellows is an opportunity for incoming and outgoing Fellows to formally present their work with each other and an audience of Spudnik Press supporters.

Finally, fellows receive advanced notice and discounted registration for all Professional Practices Programs offered to our members. Opportunities includes portfolio reviews with curators, off-site visits to resources and arts professionals throughout Chicago, exhibition opportunities, and more. By gifting each fellow a complimentary one-year Studio Membership, fellows can continue to take advantage of all member opportunities for the five months following their Fellowship.

2018-2019 Studio Fellowship Application Guidelines

To Apply:

Please thoroughly review the SPC Fellowship Information Packet. Download and complete the 2018_2019 Studio Fellowship Application Form. Return this application form and all requested materials to no later than Sunday, October 14, 2018.

Important Dates

Deadline to Apply: Sunday, October 14, 2018
Fellowship Period: November 1, 2018 – May 31, 2019
Weekly Professional Development Seminar:  Most Wednesdays from 2 – 4 p.m.
Individual Monitor Shifts Begin
: Saturday, December 1, 2018

Any inquiries regarding our Studio Fellowship can be directed to Marcela A. Serment,

Thank You to all our current and past Studio Fellows:

Vidisha Aggarwal
Rene Arceo-Witzl
Lisa Armstrong
Lya Finston

Emma Bilyeu
Dan Manion
Emily Shopp
Junli Song
Molly Berkson
Ben Garbus
Brendan Robson
Cristina Umaña

Jess Caldwell
Jazmin Dua
Yewon Kwon
Grace Makuch
Mary Climes
Carolina Martinez
Yasaman Moussavi
Betsy Stout

Stephanie Benhaim
Margaret Hitch
Eliz Kaple
Darian Longmire
Robert Kelsey
Rebecca Lothan
Randi Stella
Matthew Wead

Heather Anderson 
Ashley Shaul
Caroline Walp
Bruno Suarez Bango
Emily Culbert
Natalie Tarnowski
Carla Fisher Schwartz

Salvador Andrade

Kim Morski
Brad Rohloff

Elise Forer

Tara Zanzig
Nate Cubeta